There were several reviews from the first edition; we put those rated as “Most Helpful” here:

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Skype for business users ever July 25, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition

A few things that make Experience Skype to the Max worth your time and money.1. Jim Courtney, the author, knows his Skype. He’s written more than 800 blog posts and product reviews on Skype, Skype related software, Skype compatible hardware, how people use Skype at home and at work, Skype as a force to change the universe, all that stuff.

2. While you can get into skyping in a few minutes, if you’re spending a lot of time Skyping people you should use this book. There are features that will save you time. Tricks that will save you money. Heck, there are some tips that will make you more popular, get more done, and put a twinkle in your smile. Most Skypers never use 11% of what Skype can do; and yes, I made that number up, but you take my point. If you’re climbing past newbie stage and want to level up, Jim’s book is the simplest way to get there. If you’re encouraging someone else to feel more confident Skyping, this would make a great gift.

3. Skype for business is a thing. 40% of people use Skype at work; and that’s an official Skype statistic. If Skype is in your collaboration and communication toolkit, Jim has some great material for you. Group chats are great for keeping teams on the same page, for example.

4. Let me get back to you on 4.

5. The book is like Jim: thorough, organized, plain speaking, smart, polite and friendly. Not to stereotype Canadians but, well, Jim is very nice. I should know; I worked for years with Jim on the independent Skype Journal blog. He’s great with people and his writing is some of the best rated and most read material we’ve ever had on the site.

That’s it. Welcome to Skypeland!

 

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars The missing manual for Skype August 1, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition

Finally, someone has written the missing manual to Skype for business owners.To say that Jim Courtney is an expert on Skype is an understatement. Not only is he a prominent technology blogger who has been following the Skype phenomenon for years, he is personally passionate about the product. Some might say obsessed 😉

I know Jim personally, and have had the benefit of proofreading this book in advance. I know it’s awesome, and I also trust the source implicitly.

I use Skype in my business every single day. Without it, I wouldn’t have the freedom to work from home. In fact I spend the majority of my Wednesday doing one-on-one Skype calls with my consulting clients. This free service has become an essential part of my business.

After reading this book, you will learn how to integrate this simple product into your business to save time and money. Not to mention improving your relationship with your customers.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t know what I didn’t know! August 10, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

When I first saw this book, I thought ho-hum. I’ve been using Skype for years. I’m a frigging guru! What’s in this book to make it worth my time? Not to mention the $9.88! But, having known Jim Courtney for a while, I decided to give the book a go.Well, this became an instant exercise in “I didn’t know what I didn’t know!” This book covers many details that I had not even thought about before. The book is a great introduction for new Skype users and will even benefit crotchety old farts who think they know everything! Going forward, I will be a more effective user of Skype.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource December 7, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I found this book to be an excellent resource book on the use of Skype. It covers every practical aspect of using Skype and how to maximize the use of this technology. Before reading this book I regarded myself as a occasional user of Skype but this book showed me how I could integrate its use with my daily business and personal activities. In other words how to make Skype more accessible to one activities. I eventually bought one of the products that Jim covered in his book and realized from Jim’s review how I could effectively make use of it. I would strongly recommend this book to others.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and definitive August 17, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition

I bought this just before jumping on a flight to NY. Even though I have used Skype for years, I knew there was lots of pieces missing. Like how to manage multi- party video conference calls, managing Skype groups and recording Interviews. This has it all and goes into meticulous detail on all these and more. Skype is one of backbones of my business comms, and I’m pleased to have this reference to hand. excellent book.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Read from someone who was around when Skype was born, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Experience Skype to the Max (Kindle Edition)

I know I’m shooting myself in the foot a bit by reviewing my nearest competitor’s book, but to be fair, this is an important addition to the growing library of books about the Skype experience. As a person who uses Skype primarily for networking and collaborating, and the co-author of Networking via Skype, which is book one of a series,Networking Via Skype: 7 Great Tips and Tricks (Skype Mastery with Skype Mafia Mastermind) I had to read this book, and I’m glad I did. His description of the history of VoIP technology is engrossing. He is also an expert on the advanced tools and add-on’s specifically for larger business purposes. I found his chapters about the ethical and technological issues that businesses must face when they add Skype to their arsenal of communication tools. This is a fascinating read.

5.0 out of 5 stars A big help, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Experience Skype to the Max (Kindle Edition)
I have used Skype for years in a trial and error fashion. This book answered questions and opened up new techniques for me to make use of. If you use Skype this is a Must Have.

4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information!, June 7, 2013

By K. Schmitt (Denville, NJ) – See all my reviews
This review is from: Experience Skype to the Max (Kindle Edition)

For a newbie using Skype this book gave me a great education. At times it became a little “involved” but with a couple of re-reads and it will become clearer.

5.0 out of 5 stars Skype it, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Experience Skype to the Max (Kindle Edition)
Good guide. The info from the company is woefully in adequate. You need the guide to fill in the gaps

5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and very helpful, September 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Experience Skype to the Max (Kindle Edition)
This book has helped me a great deal. I had used Skype but this booked has helped me realize a lot more value out of the experience. The author obviously knows Skype and its ecosystem very well and has, in very plain and easy to understand terms, explained how to do more with Skype for both personal and business purposes.